Listed Buildings

Buildings are listed by Historic Scotland for their special architectural or historic interest on behalf of the Scottish Government. The aim of listing such buildings is to protect or enhance their special character by affording them statutory protection. The principles for listing buildings are fairly complex and there is no right of appeal against the Scottish Governments decision to list a property.\nListed buildings are listed in 3 categories - A, B and C.\nCategory A listed buildings are of national or international importance.\nCategory B listed buildings are of regional importance.\nCategory C buildings are of local importance.\nA building's listing covers its interior, exterior and any object or structure fixed to a building or which falls within the curtilage of such a building, forming part of the land since before 1 July 1948.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated July 23, 2020, 12:28 (UTC)
Created June 10, 2016, 04:37 (UTC)